The essence of Zermatt

Experience what it is that makes Zermatt so exceptional – in its very essence. The atmosphere of a traditional chalet coupled with the appeal of contemporary design. Real and authentic produce tastefully prepared. Selected wines. And a bar just made for the first and last drink of the evening. Where is Zermatt, if not here?

Grilling on the Josper charcoal grill, with its exceptional high temperature (300 to 350 ° Celsius), permits the meat, fish and vegetable to remain juicy. The natural grill taste is given and the pieces have an aromatic and archaic crust.

 

Menukarte

Desserts

At its heart

As one of the oldest buildings in Zermatt, the 1818 is part of the original village centre, standing wall to wall with the legendary Hotel Monte Rosa. The rough stone of the entranceway, the secluded garden, the view of the Matterhorn – where all these elements come together is where the hidden heart of Zermatt beats.

A genuine work of design

The 1818 restaurant – a historic chalet with the rustic charm of a typical Walser house? It is so much more. The Valais artist, architect and interior designer Heinz Julen has brought a contemporary twist to the traditional elements without taking away any of their authentic character. The old wood is now met with leather and metal. Modern décor adorns the walls, instruments nestle in the chandelier. Soft contours and clear lines, warmth and coolness, tradition and fashion. The 1818 restaurant is a perfect fusion of all these elements.

La quintessence de Zermatt

Vivez un moment d’exception: un concentré du meilleur de ce que Zermatt a à offrir. L’atmosphère d’un chalet traditionnel associée à l’attrait du design moderne. Des produits authentiques cuisinés avec goût. Des vins soigneusement sélectionnés. Et un bar idéal pour le premier et le dernier verre de la soirée. N’est-ce pas là l’essence même de Zermatt?

La préparation sur le grill Josper qui chauffe à une température exeptionelle (300 à 350 degrés Celsius) permet une cuisson sans perte de jus des aliments. Une croûte aromatique se forme et les saveurs naturelles des grillades sont conservées.

À la croisée des chemins

Le restaurant 1818 est situé dans l’un des plus anciens bâtiments de Zermatt. En tant que tel, il fait partie du centre historique du village, où il raconte son histoire aux côtés du mythique hôtel Monte Rosa. La roche brute à l’entrée, le jardin caché et la vue sur le Cervin, c’est ici que bat le cœur secret de Zermatt.

Un design unique

Le Restaurant 1818, chalet historique et authentique auberge valaisanne? C’est bien plus que ça. L’artiste et architecte d’intérieur valaisan Heinz Julen a donné aux éléments traditionnels une touche de modernité sans les trahir. Le bois ancien côtoie le cuir et le métal. Les murs sont ornés de motifs modernes, des instruments de musique agrémentent les lustres. Arrondis et lignes claires, ambiance chaleureuse et décontractée, tradition et tendance, tous ces fragments s’assemblent parfaitement au 1818.